Easy Listening

I’m in the midst of packing for tomorrow’s redeye back to Massachusetts, but I just had to write a quick post to share a couple links.  I’ve been trying to spend more time outside lately, which mostly consists of late-afternoon walks (occasionally runs) with Maddy in the stroller.  Having caught up on all my favorite podcasts, I’ve been delving into past episodes of This American Life, and a couple stories in particular have stood out.  They were both just innocently delightful, which is a nice change of pace.  I found myself retelling them to Johnny, but inadequately, because a hallmark of this show is that it’s usually unbelievable until you hear it for yourself.  Eventually I just made him listen for himself, and he liked them as much as I had.

I’m linking directly to the segments I loved, but in each case, the entire episode was worth listening to (though I think there’s a language warning on one segment, so don’t let the kids listen unsupervised).  Each segment is about 19 minutes long.

First, the tale of a young married couple of comedians who get the chance for their big break on the Ed Sullivan Show.  Listening to the two of them retell the story may be better than the story itself.

Next, a story about twelve kids and their father who went to great lengths to entertain them (and teach them life skills in the process!).

Enjoy – I guarantee you’ll be smiling at the end!

One thought on “Easy Listening

  1. Sue Klejeski says:

    Holy cow, that ship is amazing! To those who listen – be sure to look at the photos.

Leave a Reply

