7 Quick Takes: GIF Recipes, Fat Babies, and Organizing

Linking up with This Ain't the Lyceum with a post that I actually finished before Friday. There's a first time for everything!

{1}

sourcherries-9

All of our local farmers markets are “conveniently” held on weekday afternoons, which has been a tough adjustment from living in a place with just one large central market on Saturdays. They were all pretty much out of reach for someone with a day job, but this week, Maddy and I finally made it to one. We were hoping to find sour cherries, and we came away full-handed. Also with fresh doughnuts in hand.

These cherries are destined to become preserves, because we're running dangerously low on our beloved Michigan Cherry spread (Found at Costco. If you ever see it, buy it and I will happily reimburse you.).

{2}

A gif! Because I wanted to see if I could. It turns out I can, just not very well without putting a little effort into it. In any case, melt together 1 part coconut oil and 2 parts chocolate, and prepare to delight and amaze your friends.

output_PvpIsd

{3}

It has been a good week to be Madeleine. On Monday, she got a package from one of her aunts, who sent a book from Comic-Con. It's a very sturdy board book with cutouts on each page, making it easy for her to manipulate and explore, even with her undeveloped motor skills and a tiny attention span.

IMG_2009

Then yesterday, when I was feeling slightly bad about doing nothing to celebrate her name day, she got a totally unexpected box of gifts from a family friend. Here she is, relaxing in her track suit while listening to Rossini and playing with Sophie Jr. This is basically leisure incarnate.

IMG_2046

{4}

One of the perks of renting: this is the front of our house, and I had absolutely nothing to do with the planting or care of these flowers. I took this picture two days ago, and those morning glories are already up to the second floor windows.

IMG_2034

{5}

books

Ever since I snapped out of my undergraduate reading slump, I find that I tend to read three or four books on the same topic before moving on to the next one. I guess I'm unconsciously researching and jumping down a rabbit hole until I'm satisfied. The “Mount Everest Disasters” month was a good time, as was “Fundamentalist Mormon Polygamy” week.

Currently, I'm reading about home organization with a trio of books that I highly recommend. Our belongings are a mashup of dorm hold-overs, wedding gifts, and the things we each acquired after college, and it's kind of a stressful jumble. After waiting on the library's list for months and months, I finally got a digital copy of The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up. I'm still reading it, but I'm already dreaming of a house with relaxed socks and much less stuff. The intense purging session will be a bit of a hurdle, though.

I actually started my “research” with Minimize the Mess, which will be the book I come back to time and time again for practical advice on the day-to-day business of keeping my stuff in check. It's written specifically for people who clean with little people underfoot.

To get my fix of decorating and beauty, I'm absolutely loving The Nesting Place. I had never read The Nester blog before picking up the book, so the style and decorating philosophy is all new to me. I can't wait to tidy up so that I can really focus on making our house a more visually appealing place to be.

{6}

If you should ever find yourself in the inconceivable position of having brown sugar but no white, and needing dessert, give these cookie bars a try. I did, and I am, and they're pretty fantastic. There will be a next time, and it will involve pecans.

{7}

This week's MaddyCam features her inaugural game of peekaboo, played this evening. She was veeeery tired, so everything was hilarious.

Go visit Kelly for more Quick Takes!

 

4 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: GIF Recipes, Fat Babies, and Organizing

  1. Ann-Marie says:

    Stopping by from 7QT! I am also reading “The Life Changing Magic . . .” book. I started with the chapter on books and immediately purged one bookshelf. 31 books to donate. Felt so good, and now I smile when I see it. I am going to tackle the books in our office next week. Can’t get into the relaxes socks, though 🙂

    • Holly says:

      That’s great! It’s funny – I’m actually not looking forward to the book purge at all. I’m guessing I’ll find a box or two, though.

  2. Lisette says:

    Love those flowers- are they hollyhocks? We got roses and St Joseph’s lilies, the latter of which was a lovely surprise, as I hadn’t heard of them.

    Happy reading to you and your little one!

Leave a Reply

