What I Wore (Palm) Sunday

…to be remembered as the Sunday I got locked out the church and missed the entire homily, and not even at the same time.

Okay, so. Miss Maddy is having what I certainly hope is a growth spurt, which resulted in one (non-consecutive) hour of sleep for me last night. For a fun little stat, consider that our Mass today was twice as long as all the sleep I had. Ouch.

Due to Johnny's crazy work schedule and the fact that he's the schola director, he left early this morning and Maddy and I went to Mass separately. He took a turn holding her during the Gospel, and immediately after, I decided to seize the opportunity (my first in five hours) to go to the bathroom during the pre-homily announcements. Before I did, Johnny asked me to run out to the car to grab a chant book he forgot (A+s all around today…). On the way back in, I discovered that all the church doors were locked. Finally, I got to the farthest door from the parking lot, the door through which the Palm Sunday procession had entered just minutes before. Also locked, but Johnny was standing right there with Maddy and let me in.

I was still on my original mission of a bathroom trip, and I thought I'd surely have time for that (only about three minutes had passed since the end of the Gospel). It's a good thing I don't gamble for money, because when I came back, the homily was over. There was Johnny, standing in the front of the church, directing the Credo while holding our wide-awake, multi-colored afghan-swaddled baby. Someday we'll look back and laugh, right?

WIWS3-29-9

Dress: Motherhood Maternity

Sweater: Loft via Twice ($1.11, including shipping!)

Scarf: Hand-knit by me, worn due to outdoor procession and 35-degree weather

 

I don't usually mix patterns, so I'm hoping that stripes and spots was actually a good idea, and not just the result of a sleep-deprived delusion. No need to tell me if it was. 😉

WIWS3-29-20

 

Linking up with FLAP for What I Wore Sunday!

 

9 thoughts on “What I Wore (Palm) Sunday

  1. Jenny says:

    Man…And I thought some of our chant stories from the CofM days were crazy…Haha!

    You look lovely, btw.

  2. Lisa says:

    You look great, and I love your dress!

  3. Lindsay says:

    Excellent pattern mixing. I had a bit of a snafu during Mass as well, but it is definitely not 35 degrees here. I’m impressed you didn’t freeze while you were locked out, and that your husband can direct a choir while holding a baby. You two sound like rockstars!

  4. Rosie says:

    Ha I love it 🙂 I bet the whole parish got a kick out of your husband directing while holding a baby! Also, random, but I read your about page and my husband is ALSO a lawyer who directs the choir at a Traditional Mass, so they should totally be friends!

    • Holly says:

      That’s awesome! Is there something about the litigious mind that’s drawn to chant? 😉 I’d like to think they see Maddy as the Mass’s mascot, instead of a sign of her parents over-committing to things.

      Also, small world – I think my sister knows your sister from ND.

      On Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 10:01 PM, Pilgrims in an Unholy Land wrote:

      >

  5. Sue Klejeski says:

    Rosie, I love you blog name!
    Sincerely,
    Holly’s Mom
    😉

Leave a Reply

