7 Quick Takes: Flowers, Future Near-Drowning, and Costco Finds

{1}

I’d like to open with a little story, which is also a cautionary tale about making promises.  Somewhere in my happy childhood, I never learned how to swim.  Growing up in a state that only has about 15 days warm enough to swim, this wasn’t a big deal.  Then I went to college in an equally cold state, and missed my university’s swim test requirement by transferring in.  At no point have I been opposed to learning – it’s just never been a feasible option, and I’m beginning to think that there’s an age cutoff after which it’s just not possible to really learn well.  One time in college, a friend (who was not only an experienced lifeguard and swim teacher, but also in Navy ROTC) tried to teach me.  I was moderately successful in kicking my way across the pool with the assistance of a flotation device, but absolutely unable to float on my back or put my head underwater.

Johnny the California-born has always been somewhat incredulous at my ineptitude in water, and once when we were dating, I promised that I’d learn how to swim before we had kids.  *Cue foreshadowing music*

I really thought I was going to get off the hook, given the scarcity (and price) of adult swim lessons, until last week, when I spotted this in the newspaper: IMG_0758

Ten minutes from home, cheap, and at a time that works for me.  I was sunk (and soon, literally will be).  Johnny plans to camp out with a book and/or video camera, the jerk.  Class starts on Monday – updates will come after that.

{2}

My last hope for getting out of swimming was pinned on the availability of maternity swimwear.  $30 lessons aren’t much good if I needed a $70 suit, especially considering the very low frequency with which I’ll be wearing it.  Well, thanks a lot, Old Navy.  For under $20, I lucked out with a suit that’s honestly pretty cute.  Sorry, no photos to prove that it looks good.

On the other end of the online-shopping spectrum are these jeans, also from Old Navy, which should just not be worn by anyone besides that mannequin.  In my defense, I only bought them because they were $7, but they are going straight back.  Because…yikes.  Anyone have any better maternity jean suggestions?

{3}

IMG_0047-2

About a month ago, we hosted some friends for dinner.  In my dinner guest-induced neurosis, I decided that flowers for the table were a total necessity (I dunno, to compensate for the fact that I was *only* serving a roast chicken and vegetables, bacon-wrapped asparagus, and apple crisp, all homemade?  It made sense at the time.).

I stepped into the floral section at the nearby semi-upscale grocery store, and picked up two bunches of alstroemeria for $4 each.  Well, that $8 bouquet lived for over three weeks, which is pretty impressive.  I’m now on bouquet #2, which are going strong in the kitchen window, and I can see this becoming a necessary purchase throughout the winter.

IMG_0050-2

{4}

Baby Trailmix and I had a quick 23-week appointment this morning, during which he gave the doctor a well-deserved and solid kick straight to the doppler.  Thanks, kiddo – Mama’s proud.

{5}

Until pretty recently, our baby preparations only extended as far as 1) knowing that we’re having a baby, and 2) vaguely making a registry.  Then the family on one side asked us to pick out a crib we’d like, and the other side is throwing a shower and asked about a color scheme.  So I’ve been expanding my ideas beyond the dresser drawer I was planning to use as a bassinet (kidding!  a little), and even made a Pinterest board of color ideas.  “Nursery” is a loose term that in our case means “corner of the guest room, which has white walls that cannot be painted.”  Still, I’m suddenly pretty certain I need this rug to brighten up our bleak midwinter.

{6}

In her quick takes today, Rosie linked to these 1943 Priest Cutouts from Catholic Extension. Rather than waiting till 2017 or whenever Trailmix is ready for this, I think it’s time for me to break out some scissors and a box of crayons (or some colored pencils, if I wanted to get fancy).

{7}

I’ll end on a super-exciting topic: What I Found at Costco Yesterday!

Need a new coffee mug?  I did, after I left mine in a choir loft 45 minutes away last weekend (long story).  Costco to the rescue.  So far, it insulates really really well and seems totally leak-proof (even in the hands of a determined child, I’d guess – there are multiple safeguards on it).  Bonus: it comes in a 2-pack, so I can lose another one!

In the clothing section, I spotted a reprise from last winter: the best tights ever.  I can’t find a Costco link, but they come in a 2-pack and are waaaaay cheaper than the link above.  I got some last year, wore them a few times a week, and they still look like new.  They’re also not kidding about the “super opaque” thing.  In short, I highly recommend them, and I’m bummed that the control top will not play nice with my figure right now.

I also bought approximately seven pounds of Multigrain Cheerios, but that’s just because I was there at dinnertime and the baby wanted them.

On that note, I’m out – have a good weekend!  Go Irish, Beat Seminoles!

3 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: Flowers, Future Near-Drowning, and Costco Finds

  1. Sue Klejeski says:

    Buy that rug. The colors are inspired and the surface will be a great play mat someday. In the meantime, you can use inexpensive fabric and paper decorations to make the rest of the nursery a great place to be!

    • Holly says:

      The mixed reviews are giving me pause. I’d hate for the color to wear off on our tan carpet…

      On Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 2:42 PM, Pilgrims in an Unholy Land wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

