Growing Pains (a laundry query)

Last night, I got home to find that Johnny had done all the laundry.  Never one to complain, I was happily folding things when I realized that he had tossed in the hand-wash shirts that were – in my mind but nowhere else – separated from everything else.  “Never put bras in the dryer,” I had remembered to tell him, but not, “Keep track of which of my thrift store finds have silk in them and don’t put them in the machine.”  Overall, they looked okay, but curiously, the armpit areas of both shirts came out like you can see in the photo below.  They definitely didn’t look like that going in, though there was undoubtedly some invisible residue there.

IMG_5506

 

Any suggestions for fixing them?  Like I said, they’re both thrift store finds, so it’s not the end of the world if they’re beyond help.

5 thoughts on “Growing Pains (a laundry query)

  1. Jenny says:

    No clue on the laundry, but I love the new look of the blog!

    • Holly says:

      Thanks! I’ll probably settle on something else more permanently, but I felt like changing things up (and procrastinating from actually important things).

  2. You know my regular fix – dry bleach on the area, roll it up and get it wet. Wash it again tomorrow. Since it didn’t get wrecked with the initial washing, I’d just go for it one more time to get the treatment out.

  3. Holly says:

    Thanks. I don’t own any, so I’ll have to stop somewhere tonight. To his credit, my bra did not go in the dryer, so that’s something. I should probably just stop buying hand-wash clothes.

Leave a Reply

