Eddying blasts and a hobbit’s evening

20130121-220946.jpg

After a relatively mild winter, today was our first real snowstorm to date.  I signed up to take a fitness class, and the first meeting was tonight.  I realized early in the day that I had left my gym bag at home, so I decided to try going home for it and coming back in time.  The roads were not suitable for unnecessary travel, and by the time I got home I didn’t feel like turning around and going out again.  Instead, I made dinner (this soup recipe, but without an immersion blender.  It would have been better blended.) and sat down with Lord of the Rings.  As it turned out, I was at a very fitting passage: the Fellowship’s failed crossing of the mountain.

“I don’t like this at all,” panted Sam just behind.  “Snow’s all right on a fine morning, but I like to be in bed while it’s falling.  I wish this lot would go off to Hobbiton! Folk might welcome it there.”…

The Company now gathered together as close to the cliff as they could.  It faced southwards, and near the bottom it leaned out a little, so that they hoped it would give them some protection from the northerly wind and from the falling stones.  But eddying blasts swirled round them from every side, and the snow flowed down in ever denser clouds…. If they had had no larger companions the hobbits would soon have been entirely buried.

For my part, I’m glad to be nestled inside with warm food, listening to the sounds of snowplows scraping by outside.

Stay tuned for tomorrow exciting installment: “How Much Wool Can She Wear?”

Leave a Reply

