2012 In Reading

Last year, instead of setting a goal for the number of books I wanted to read, I set a goal of reading 10,000 pages.  I figured that trying to reach a book quota would just inspire me to read a number of short or easy books, and I wanted to set the bar a little higher.  Things got busy in the second half of the year (hello, wedding planning!), so I didn’t end up reaching my goal.  I made it three-quarters of the way, though, which is nothing to sneeze at, especially considering that I tackled Kristin Lavransdatter.  Next year, I’d like to go heavier on the non-fiction; I just need to find books that are both interesting (sorry, Belloc) and worthwhile (sorry, celebrity autobiographies).

2012 Non-Fiction

2012 Fiction

  • The Girl Who Played with Fire by Steig Larsson (503 pages)
  • Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset (1171 pages)
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest by Steig Larsson (563 pages)
  • Jack o’ Judgement by Edgar Wallace (260 pages)
  • Anatomy of a Murder by Robert Traver (437 pages)
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (419 pages)
  • The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins (1155 pages)
  • The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie (294 pages)
  • The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie (268 pages)
  • My World and Welcome to It by James Thurber (324 pages)
  • Dr. No by Ian Fleming (246 pages)

Total: 7549 pages

Leave a Reply

