Tomato Goodness (if you’re into that kind of thing)

I’ve never been a big fan of raw or plain tomatoes, although I’ve been making a real effort to eat them more often (it helps to have a fiance who eats tomato based meals at least 4 times a week).  Then I saw a recipe on Smitten Kitchen that extolled the virtues of slow-roasted tomatoes, and I decided to try it because it seemed like the kind of thing grown-ups eat.  Finding these beautiful little ones at the Farmer’s Market didn’t hurt, either.

I went through 4 different knives before I figured out that a serrated blade was the only way to go, but then it was as simple as cutting them all in half and drizzling them with olive oil.

Three hours later, my three pounds of tomatoes had turned into this:

I was excited to try one, but realized immediately that it did not taste like “someone snuck into your oven and doused them in both vinegar and salt” (I love Smitten Kitchen, but this is just wrong).  No, it pretty much just tasted like the tomato flavor had been greatly concentrated, which is not a selling point for me.  They’re currently in the freezer, waiting to be used in a recipe rather than as some kind of stand-alone delicacy.

2 thoughts on “Tomato Goodness (if you’re into that kind of thing)

  1. Sue Klejeski says:

    You could just try dousing one in both vinegar and salt …

Leave a Reply

