Amazing what can happen on a bye weekend

Oh, the things I accomplished this weekend!  I wrote out a pretty lengthy to-do list on Friday afternoon, and yesterday evening, I crossed off the last item.  I also forgot to transfer pictures of my projects over to my computer, so those will have to wait.  For now, though, I would like to brag that I:

  • Sanded and re-stained an end table (note to Mom: my problems with the sander were user error; apparently it works better if you don’t push down so hard).
  • Went to the Farmers’ Market, where I got a really lovely bouquet of flowers and 3 pounds of cherry, grape, and pear tomatoes.
  • Roasted the above-mentioned tomatoes for three hours, until they had reduced to about 10 oz. and tasted much more tomato-y.  Unfortunately, this is not a selling point for me.
  • Cleaned much of the house very thoroughly (including washing the kitchen floor!).
  • Started a new knitting project about which I’m very excited.
  • Cooked 4 pounds of pears down into sauce, which is in my crock pot right now, (hopefully) reducing into pear butter, which I will then can in the jars that I got on sale and with a coupon.

Pretty much all of these items deserve a post of their own, so I’ll be back to do that when I’ve got photo evidence!

3 thoughts on “Amazing what can happen on a bye weekend

  1. Sue Klejeski says:

    Even more tomato-y! That would be a selling point for me!

    • Holly says:

      It was really easy, if you want to do it. Just cut them in half, drizzle them with olive oil, and stick them in the oven for 3 hours at 225. My oven did not roast them evenly, so you should check them halfway. They’re currently in Johnny’s freezer while we ponder how best to use them.

  2. Emily M says:

    “Give them to Emily” is always an option. Seriously, though, I’d say use them almost more like a spice. Just a few here or there (especially in vegetarian fare) for a little extra savory punch. Chop them fine if you don’t want to encounter a big bite of one.

Leave a Reply

