Social Saturday

Last night, my roommates and I hosted a little anti-February-doldrums, pre-Lent party.  That was the excuse (as if one was needed) to put on our aprons, whip up some goodness, and invite people over.  As it turned out, a few old friends ended up coming into town, and it was great to have an occasion to catch up.

My contributions included a pumpkin pie (not seasonal, but made with a specific person in mind), and a hot chocolate bar.  I made a pot of cocoa on the stove, and set out a variety of syrups and other additions (for the adults, ahem).  The idea backfired a little bit, as it ended up being a balmy 40 yesterday, but I think it was a hit anyway.

I was a little surprised that a few people brought hostess gifts – I think I’m too recently out of college parties, where showing up with your own beer is about as generous as it gets.  Last night, we ended up with a lovely bouquet of flowers, a potted hyacinth plant, and a tin of olive oil.  It sounds random, unless I explain that it was brought by a proudly Italian friend to whom I happened to have mentioned that I was out of olive oil.  Oh, it still sounds random?  In any case, I now have three liters.  I may have to get creative with this stuff.

It’s sitting on the counter, next to my Valentine’s rose from another Italian (note the label on the wine/vase).  In my mind, a party is a success if you can find yourself cheerfully loading up the dishwasher at 2 AM, and this one didn’t disappoint!

3 thoughts on “Social Saturday

  1. Sue says:

    Looks like something you should do more often!

  2. Jenni says:

    It was great. 🙂

    Alas for Lent! (Well, not really, but you know what I mean…)

  3. Emily says:

    Olive oil is supposed to keep better in a tin than in a bottle. The best way to keep it fresh, I’ve read, is to pour some into a bottle for day-to-day use, so you’re not opening the tin too often.

Leave a Reply

