Making my own music

One of the benefits of having spent so much time with a good choir is that I now have a “liturgical jukebox” of sorts in my head. Today’s first reading, for instance, brought to mind one of my favorite pieces (video below). It ran through my head, giving me my own personal offertory motet during what was otherwise a pretty…sparse Mass.

Of course, this ability backfires sometimes, leaving me with a badly translated Spanish hymn or just a lame English interpretation stuck in my head, but when that happens, my mental liturgical ninjas are on the case pretty quickly to restore order.

Leave a Reply

